Love Cricket? Know the ICC Champions Trophy Winners List in All Editions


ICC Champions Trophy and its enthusiasm have yet once again created chatters and source of entertainment for the cricket fans around the globe. Experts around the world label the World’s second best cricket tournament as the ‘mini world cup’, the match is played after every 2 years comprises of either six or eight teams as per ICC rule and aspiration regarding the tournament. Some startling facts about the ICC Champions Trophy which began in the year 1998 and Australia and India are only teams to win the tournament for two times since its inception. South Africa and New Zealand being top two contenders for the year 2017 have had victory in the tournament one time each respective in the year 1998 and 2000.

Updates on the tournament

England was the host of previous year ICC Champions Trophy 2017. It has won the tournament as runner-up two times when the English team hosted tournament two times in past. Now, according to specifics fortune offers them the much-needed triumph and they finish the tournament as the winners this time. The ICC Champions Trophy has already commenced from 1st June and it is gearing up to generate buzz already for the cricket fans of favorite nations India (Last Year Winners), England, Sri Lanka South Africa, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan and New Zealand.

History of ICC Champions Trophy 2017

It’s a journey which begins in the year 1998. Thereafter it includes the top eight or six rank cricket playing nation. The Champions included in the name. Most of the nations participating in the tournament are participants with ICC. The Tournament occurs after a break of every 2 years and rest is history. The foremost ever Champions Trophy organizer is Bangladesh. South Africa wins the tournaments only edition till date. Other fascinating fact parts of Champions Trophy says Australia is the only team to win it successively two times. Prologue of T20 tournament like IPL has a rage. ICC Champions Trophy event has been extended from 2 years to 3 years.

Winners and years

Sri Lanka

1998 South Africa West Indies Dhaka, Bangladesh
2000 New Zealand India Nairobi, Kenya
2002 India and Sri Lanka None (RAIN)
2004 West Indies England England 2006 Australia New Zealand South Africa 2009 Australia England England 2013 India England England 2017 TBD TBD England


1998: South Africa beat West Indies by 4 wickets. It wins the champions trophy the first time in Dhaka.

2000: India reaches the finals after getting out in semi-finals in 1998 and plays against New Zealand in Nairobi. However, New Zealand won the match by 4 wickets and 2 balls remaining.

2002: The tournament occurs in Sri Lanka at Colombo. India played against Sri Lanka and the match was rescinded due to the rain fall.

2004: After 1998 miss against South Africa, West Indies won the match against England by two wickets with seven balls remaining.

2006: Beating the winner of previous series, Australia beats West Indies. It leads by 8 wickets and 41 balls. This calculation is according to the D/L method in Wankhede stadium, Mumbai.

2009:  Australia keep its winner label intact by beating New Zealand at Centurion. It wins by 6 wickets and 28 balls remaining.

2013: India reached finals after 2002 and won the championship for the first time beating England by 5 runs.

2017: Pakistan beat India by 180 runs in a very interesting match at London.