Top 10 Women Chief Ministers of India


In every decade, women of our country have proven themselves in every dimension of work, education, politics, media and the list continues. Today, we bring to our readers the list of Top 10 women Chief Ministers of India.

As described by the constitution of India, Chief Minister is the person who is elected to head the council of ministers in the state. We are proud to enlist the Women Chief Ministers of India who have contributed dedicatedly towards the prosperity of our country.

 Top 10 Women Chief of India

1. Mamata Banerjee 

Mamata Banerjee is the 8th and also the present serving chief minister of the state of West Bengal. She has been serving since the year 2011. Mamata Banerjee is popularly known as “Didi”.  Many people are still not aware of the fact that in her early political career, she was the first lady minister who has served as a Minister of Railways.  Born and bought up in West Bengal, Mamata Banerjee is one of the much loved and appreciated Women Chief Ministers of India. She was also listed as one of the 100 most Influential People in the world.

2. Vasundhra Raje

Vasundhara Raje is the current Woman Chief Minister of the state of Rajasthan. She has  served this state since the year 2003 to 11 December 2018. From the political records, we come to know that Vasundhara Raje is the first woman to hold this post. There is also one book published on the life of Vasundhara Raje, which was written by Vijay Nahar and published by Prabhat Prakashan. The economics graduate, Vasundhara is also counted in the list of top 10 women Chief Ministers of India.

3. Jayalalithaa

Jayalalithaa served as the 6th Chief Minister of the state of Tamil Nadu.  She also belongs to the Bollywood fraternity. She is only women Chief Minister of India who served the state of Tamil Nadu for five terms. Apart from the political ability, she is widely appreciated for her acting and dancing skills. The mysterious death of the Chief Minister had left the nation and doctors mum. She was one of the most respected women Chief Ministers of India.

4. Mehbooba Mufti

Mehbooba Mufti is the first women to serve as the Chief Minister of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. She served the state for the period between 4 April 2016- 19 June 2018. Mehbooba is the only woman Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir and one of the few recognized politician figure of the state. She was successful in leaving her own mark on the nation and people.

5. Sucheta Kriplani

Sucheta Kriplani had created history by becoming the first women Chief Ministers of India. She was also the freedom fighter of India. Sucheta served the state of Uttar Pradesh from 1963-1967 as the Chief Minister. She was born in Ambala, Punjab, British India and took the death bed at the age of 66 on 1 December.

6. Uma Bharti

Uma Bharti served at the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh for the interval of December 2003 to August 2004. She is one of those women Chief Minister of India who is known for her rigid religious beliefs and also for the name of “sanyasan”. When we talk about Uma Bharti’s present position in government as the Union Minister for Water Resources & Ganga Rejuvenation.

7. sheila Dixit

Sheila Dixit is the longest serving women Chief Minister of India. She served Delhi for 15 long years, 1998-2013. Sheila Dixit was also elected as the Governor of Kerala but later, stepped back from the position.

8. Rajinder Kaur Bhattal

Rajinder Kaur Bhattal is the listed member of Congress and the former Chief Minister of the state of Punjab. She has made history by being elected as the first woman Chief Minister of Punjab. he served the country for the period between 21 November 1996-11 February 1997.

9. Anandiben Patel

Anandiben Patel is the member of the BJP and is the former Chief Minister of Gujrat. She is the 15th Chief Minister of Gujrat and served the state from 22 May 2014 to 7 August 2016.

10. Rabri Devi

She is the former Chief Minister of the state of Bihar. Many people are unaware of the fact that she is one of those women Chief Ministers of India who dedicatedly worked for the progress of the nation. Rabri served Bihar for three terms.